Free Web Hosting

Eoghanacht Kings of Munster to 963

Eoghanacht Kings of Munster to 963

The Eoghanacht Kings of Munster

In the following list, the various Eoghanacht septs are identified as follows:

The Eóghanachta claimed descent from Eóghan Mór, a semi-mythical King of Munster who reigned in the late second century of the Christian era. Whether or not he was a historical person, rather than a genealogical invention, cannot be determined. According to the synthetic histories of the Middle Irish schools, he was succeeded by the following kings: Ailill Ólomm, Cormac Cas, Fiachu Mullethan, Mogha Corb, Ailill Fland Mór, Ailill Fland Bec, and Echu. There is some evidence to suggest that several of these kings of Munster were real persons and not merely the figments of bardic imagination. However, the first generally accepted historical king of Munster was Conall Corc who established the Rock of Cashel as the seat of his dynasty.

Conall Corc (obit. 379)
Nad Froích mac Cuirc
Óengus mac Nad Froích (obit 490/92)
Daut Iarlaithe mac Maithni (ELL)
Eochaidh mac Óengusso
Feidlimid I mac Óengusso (EC)
Dub-Gilcach mac Óengusso
Crimthann Srem mac Echdach (EG)
Coirpre Cromm mac Crimthainn (obit. 579/80, EG)
Fergus Scandal mac Crimthainn Airthir Chliach (obit. 583, EAC)
Feidlimid II mac Coirpri (EG)
Feidlimid III mac Tigernaig (obit 590/93, ER)
Amalgaid mac Éndai (EA)
Gabrán mac Éndai (EA)
Fíngen I mac Áedo Duib (obit. 619, EC)
Áed Bennán mac Crimthainn (obit 619/21, EL)
Cathal I mac Áedo Flaind Chathrach (obit. 628, EG)
Faílbe Fland mac Áedo Duib (obit. 637/39, EC)
Cúán mac Amalgado (obit. 641, EA)
Máenach mac Fíngin (obit. 662, EC)
Cathal II Cú-cen-máthair mac Cathail (obit. 665/6, EG)
Colgú mac Faílbe Fland (obit. 678, EC)
Fíngen II mac Cathail Cú-cen-máthair (obit. 695/6, EG)
Ailill mac Cathail (obit, 698/701, EG)
Eterscél mac Máele Umai (obit. 721, EA)
Cormac I mac Ailello (obit. 731, EC)
Cathal III mac Finguine (obit. 742, EG)
Cathussach mac Eterscélai (EA)
Maél Dúin mac Áedo (obit. 786, ELL)
Ólchobar I mac Flainn (obit. 796/7, EG)
Ólchobar II mac Duib-Indrecht (obit. 805, EA)
Artrí mac Cathail (obit. 821, EG)
Tuathal mac Artroig (EG)
Tnúthgal mac Donngaile (EC)
Feidlimid IV mac Crimthainn (obit. 847, EC)
Ólchobar III mac Cináeda (obit. 851, ELL)
Áilgenán mac Donngaile (obit. 859, EC)
Cenn Fáelad hua Mugthigirn (obit. 872, EAC)
Donnchad I mac Duib-dá-Bairenn (obit. 888, EC)
Dub Lachtna mac Maéle Gualae (obit. 895, EC)
Finguine III Cen nGécán mac Lóegairi (obit. 902, EC)
Cormac II mac Cuilennáin (obit. 908, EC)
Flaithbertach mac Inmainen (obit. 944)
Lorcán mac Coinlígáin (EC)
Cellachán I Caisil mac Buadacháin (obit. 954, EC)
Máel Fathardaig mac Flainn (obit. 957, EC)
Dub-dá-Bairenn mac Domnaill (obit. 959, ER)
Fer Gráid mac Cléerig (obit. 961, EC)
Donnchad II mac Cellacháin Caisil (obit. 963, EC)

With the death of King Donnchad II mac Cellachain, the Dál gCais Mathgamain mac Cenneetig, King of Thomond, usurped the throne of Munster. He was murdered in 976 by Máelmuad mac Briain, King of Eóghanacht Rathlind, who assumed the title of King of Munster, but probably remained uncrowned at the time of his own death at the hands of Mathgamain's brother, Brian Boru, in 978. Thereafter the Dál gCais reigned supreme in Munster until 1118 when the kingdom of Desmond was founded as an Eóghanacht state.

Kings of Desmond 1118-1596

(C) 1999, The MacCarthy Mor, All Rights Reserved.